video games

Become Mother Nature: free of man

If you know me, you know I love a good simulation game. So when I was contacted by Kris – Director at Future Friends Games- about Cloud Gardens I had to dig into this. I won’t lie, it took me a couple of days to understand exactly what this game was and even about. I almost passed on it because I simply said… I don’t get it…

  So, we know it’s a simulation game but it’s not like any other I personally have played. There are some games I can compare it to but I feel it still just has its own vibe about it.

   Creator Noio Games (Thomas van den Berg) put together a mother nature style simulation game. There are no people, no shooting, no boss battles; in a sense we are coming in after the apocalypse has occurred and helping mother nature do what she does best. And that is grow. You take complete control of nature in lo-fi scenes of urban decay and manufactured landscapes. It’s your job to be strategic in seed placement in these locations to embark on a full land of flowers, shrubs, trees and more without the walls of a greenhouse or potted soil.

When I first took a look at the trailer and screenshots of the game sent over to me, my mind went straight to Poison Ivy, she would be so proud. I picture myself as her in all the glory of letting plants take over what man destroyed. The soothing sounds of the music, even the click of placing items; I can see myself emerged into this for hours. The colors of the plants and even structure of buildings and automotives. Job well done.

The game runs in two modes: sandbox where you can sit and relax to the soothing sounds of Amos Roddy, composer of the Kingdom Series, and be as creative as you want to be or do campaign mode of 6 chapters of one goal. Cover all things manufactured in the love of greenery.

How can you have a game with no people, animals, interactions? When playing the campaign you do have goals and situations to hit. Just because there may not be people or animals , plants have needs too and certain conditions to thrive in. It’s up to you to be the judge of these placements and indicators to let you know where you are before you move on to the next location. 

After diving in and really understanding the path the developer was going, I can not wait to get started. I released the information to my discord fam and I already got some interesting feedback on seeing how this game takes off. 

The Cloud Gardens game looks pretty cool. Like super chill vibes

Eli – discord member

Cloud Gardens will be available on Steam Sept 9, 2020. I plan on streaming for the first time that evening around 7pm cst on Twitch (http://twitch.tv/lunamarie33)

Luna

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.